Ride for Heart 2014

With my low mileage this year, Ride for Heart (75km) was the longest ride so far with its once-a-year unique opportunity to ride on a highway.  The ride package included the typical bike plate … and new this year … a dorky helmet cover.  WHY???  Mandatory or not, it was not going on my head.

Helmet Cover

After a 3:30am wake up call, we arrived at the Parking Lot by 5am.  It was a cold morning and the breeze by the lake was chilly.  I stuck with an arm warmer and 2 layers of short sleeve jerseys.  We headed out to the 6am early start chute.  I was surprised by the lack of ohhhh-ahhhhh’s that I used to have when I rode up the ramp onto the highway.  This was my 4th year doing the ride and the amazement didn’t seem to be there.  It was nonetheless a terrific ride and always a huge turnout.  It was also an excellent opportunity for me to gauge my fitness level coming out of winter hibernation …. when it’s already summer time.

IMG_20140601_060043s

IMG_20140601_060334s

The most inspiring sight was seeing a little girl, maybe around 5 years old, riding her own bike alongside her mom.  There was also a serious bike crash which seemed to happen each year.  This always baffles me since all 4 lanes of the highway are open to cyclists …

IMG_20140601_070522s IMG_20140601_070530s

At the end of the ride, we were greeted by the typical cheering crowd, followed by a finisher medal which was a new addition this year!

IMG_20140601_093937s

Leave a Reply

