Mood Busters

Another “interesting” work week, which translates to a couple of missed spin classes and not meeting my cardio targets yet again.  It’s been a battle lately to find time to focus on personal goals.

What kept me sane & motivated over the week?

Registering for a Half, a Century, & a Race.  My wallet has been doing all the work; now it’s my turn to pick up the slack!!

Possessing a large batch of Chocolate Pudding – my recent obsession!! (Thanks Meredith for sharing the recipe with me!)  It calls for:

  • 2 avocados
  • 1/4 C cocoa powder
  • 1/2 C honey (A couple drizzle is enough for me – I like my cocoa DARK!)

I used to follow that portion size.  But it’s too unbelievably awesome!  It only makes sense to increase that size ….

IMG-20130131-00627

When it’s freshly made, it reminds me of chocolate frosting on a cupcake.  But WAIT!  Resist the urge to eat it yet!  The true magic happens after refrigerating it overnight.  It firms up a bit and becomes fudge-like with an ice cream consistency.  Does that even make sense? It’s indescribable except mind-blowing good!!  I normally just grab a spoon (no patience for a bowl) & dig in.  Sometimes I use it as a fruit dip.  My favourite is with strawberries – a classic!  I even spread it on top of my Oatmeal Breakfast Cookie (mix 4 Tbsp oats + 1 egg in a bowl; microwave 1min) with peanut butter.  A breakfast that tastes like Reese’s PB cups!!  Now you see why I make such a large batch?  The rich, dark chocolate flavour is truly a chocoholic’s dream!!

And I cannot leave out my Home-made Hot Chocolate that I make on most nights.  I don’t use store-bought hot chocolate powder mix.  They are overly sweet without enough chocolate flavour.  I’m a die-hard dark chocolate fan, preferably over 85% cocoa.  Besides, making my own requires the same effort as boiling water for store-bought mixes!  Don’t be shocked by my ingredient measurements – I use a huge mug :D:

  • 1/2 C milk (any type)
  • 1+1/4 C water
  • 2Tbsp cocoa powder
  • A few drizzle of honey (depends on your sweet tooth)

I purchased Coconut Milk for the 1st time this week.  I admit I’m not a fan of it on its own.  But when I use it in my coffee & hot chocolate (to replace dairy milk), it really kicks them up a notch & adds a heavenly smell!

I never blogged much about food until a few weeks ago.  This explains one reason – it forces me to expose my Chocoholism!! 😳 There you have it …. What helps me de-stress & move forward? Chocolate & planning tours & races!!

How do YOU manage your time each day in a busy world?

14 thoughts on “Mood Busters

  1. Oh that pudding is oh so good! I actually make hot cocoa too-remind me to get you my recipe. It has dates in it! Love this post! Bookmarking it for sure! One more thing-time is the only thing you can never “get back”. So make sure you’re truly living-don’t cheat yourself

    • Thank goodness you told me about the pudding – it’s now a staple in my fridge. Please do let me know about the hot cocoa recipe … it sounds interesting. You know what, I’m reading Lesson 1 of the *uh-hem* leadership course this wknd, & it mentioned the same thing – time is the only 1 resource we can control. It should be spend on high-payoff activities. Alright, enough about that ….!! 🙂

        • yep, it’s continuing for most of us – just down a couple players! I was listening to the lesson (it’s on CD) during breakfast – terrific start of a day eh?!

  2. oh i love this! i think i NEED to make this pudding for sure. gosh i can relate to you on the work front and not having enough time to pursue my goals. i am ready to tackle some but work is in the way…….thank you for this post. i liked the peak into your life and your recipes!

    • thanks kalli! I’m working on my delegation skills so that I have more time for work that’s of value to me! I have a tendancy to just say “ok, I’ll do it” … and that’s no good anymore when I have so much work that was supposed to be due “yesterday”!!

  3. I tried a similar recipe like that once which made me realized that I really dislike avocados!! I think it’s that buttery taste/texture that puts me off. I use to love them though. Maybe I just ate too many!!

    • I’ve always loved avocados!! hmm, guacamole 🙂 I’m surprised you can taste the avocado in this recipe though – I find the cocoa overpowers the mild taste of avocados. Or maybe I always just put a dash too many as a “precaution”!

  4. Pingback: Top 5 Reasons for Getting a CSA | The Fit Formula

  5. Pingback: A Rookie Mistake | Cherry Lo

Leave a Reply

