Green Monster

I joined the Green Monster Movement.  Why?  Simple – green is my favourite colour & it’s a great excuse to use bananas.  😀

I made my 1st Green Monster last night:

  • 2 C spinach
  • 1 banana
  • 2 tsp whole chia seeds
  • 1 C skim milk
  • Directions: Throw everything in blender; blend until smooth; pour into an awesome tumbler & refrigerate.

I took it out of the fridge this AM before heading out for work.  Holy miss molly, was it thick!!  😀 The chia seeds must have soaked up most of the liquid.  It’s so delicious.  The sweetness from the banana completely dominates the drink – I couldn’t taste the spinach at all.

I might put some cocoa powder in next time….hmmm!

5 thoughts on “Green Monster

  1. Okay, I haven’t stopped thinking about your “Green Monster” since I first read your blog days ago!! so I decided that I am going to give it a try!- I’m starting my first “official” detox tomorrow and I plan to include this on my second week. Stay tuned 🙂 and thanks for sharing this!

    • Good luck with your detox! I promise you, no spinach taste!
      I’m awaiting to buy more ripe bananas so I can whip up this drink again.

    • It’s fine (and probably just as nutritious) as long as you ground them up first!! I hear flax has a really hard shell & it goes right through your system!! With my old blender, it’s hopeless trying to make it grind up the flax. So chia seeds is much more convenient for me & I love how they are super absorbent. So they make my smoothie much thicker!

  2. Pingback: Just cut them! | Cherry Lo

Leave a Reply

