Hot Yoga

I’ve always been narrow-minded towards yoga.  I thought it’s a waste of time since it doesn’t give me a burning session.  That is until recently….

I’ve done some research on Achilles ever since my injury.   One of the contributors to Achilles injury is a weak calf.  This was a good reminder for me that without strengthening my body, I’m more prone to injuries.  I learned about yoga specifically designed for runners at the Green Living Show.  It gave me a new perspective.  Yes, yoga is not geared towards burning calories.  But it’ll give me the strength to safely perform all the high intensity activities that I love.

I got a coupon from the Green Living Show for a free yoga class at iam Yoga.  This yoga studio specializes in hot yoga.  I’ve never done yoga in my life, yet I’m diving straight into hot yoga.  Oh well, there’s a 1st time for everything.

I had no clue what to expect.  Let’s see…..I went on a high school field trip to a Sweat Lodge (purification ceremony done in high heat by North American First Nations).  So I’m thinking hot yoga is a combination of Sweat lodge (minus the chanting & drumming) & some Buddha enlightening.  Oh dear!! 😕

I obviously don’t own yoga equipment.  I gathered my crappy yoga mat, 2 towels, water, & some fitness clothing.  I was nervous but mostly excited.  Off I go!  😀

Verdict: The staff is extremely friendly.  The studio is beautiful & clean, equipped with a shower & changing area.  I had no issues keeping up with the movements & poses.  My biggest obstacles, however, were flexibility & balance.  I couldn’t believe so many guys showed up.   Here I go again with my close-minded views on yoga….I always thought yoga only appealed to females.  The heat didn’t bother me at all.  I quite enjoyed the deep sweat for detoxification……who knows what toxins I have in my body from all the petroleum jelly I use. 😀

I’ll definitely be back, most likely signing up for their $20 introductory offer – unlimited classes for 1 week.

Urgh….now having a ginormous argument with myself whether to go swimming tonight.  😦

5 thoughts on “Hot Yoga

  1. Let me know if you decide to sign up…you can come to my house and leave all your valuables there. That will be good for several reasons the main one being that I need to get my *ss to yoga.

  2. Pingback: Grueling Saturday « Cherry Lo

Leave a Reply

