Green Living Show

I had such a blast at the Green Living Show today!!  The best part was all the free taste-tests!!  Delicious!  They were natural, organic, fair trade, &/or local.  It was nice not to worry about reading ingredients for once!

It was free admissions if you brought in an e-waste 😀 .  Perfect opportunity to get rid of an old cell phone….

I fueled my body with oatmeal before heading out.  My meals have been MIA from the blog because, well….that’s all I’ve been eating for morning & lunch.  HA! 😀  My oatmeal consisted of:

  • 1 Banana (1/2 mashed, 1/2 sliced)
  • 1/2 C Oats
  • 1 C water
  • 2 spoonfuls of pumpkin puree
  • 3 Dark Chocolate chips
  • 1 spoonful of Natural Crunchy PB
  • Dash of pumpkin spice & ground ginger

Oh boy, it was pouring rain on my way to the Show.  I checked out the “non-food related” booths first.  There were vendors selling solar panels, products made from recycled items, lunch boxes, reusable water bottles, eco-friendly makeup & soaps, paper made from elephant poop……tons of goodies & information.  Real animals were present at some booths.

There was a turkey vulture

….and a lizard/reptile that I can’t remember the name to.  I DO remember her name is Dora & she’s from South America. (Update: it’s an Argentine Tegu)

This gigantic beaver from Parks Canada scared me half to death.

This store sold Mighty Wallets.  They were made from old paper products (ie. old comic books, used lined paper, envelopes, discarded restaurant menus)  & were folded in some way to create wallets.  Ingenious!

Time to venture into the “Health & Wellness” Section.  My FAVOURITE!!  This is where all the taste tests began 😀 ….yogurt, energy bars, protein shakes, superfoods (goji berries, chia seeds), cocoa nibs, cereal, flat breads, cookies, tea, coffee, nuts, chocolate, bread, jam, marinades, honey, soy drinks, sorbet.  It was endless….but there were so many yogurt booths.

This vendor sold all things bee-related….from honey to beeswax lip balm (which I purchased!!).  They even had a glass panel full of live bees!!

Oh yum, time to get some good eats at Good Eats Market! 😛  Everything was fresh & local…..local grape juice, carrot juice, yogurt, all sorts of cheese, dandelion greens, organic sprouts, alfalfa sprouts, apples, & sweet peppers.  Delicious!

The food personnel from Loblaws provided a cooking demo.  He made ceviche & a hor d’oeuvre (smoke salmon & yogurt on a cucumber cup).

I was so full from all the taste-testing that I was contemplating whether to try out some gourmet food from Farm Fresh Fare.  I succumbed in the end.  It was $10 for 5 tickets.  Everything was locally grown & prepared by chefs!

Look at the amazing presentation of his dish.

I ended up selecting:

  • Sweet potato gnocchi with smoked leek sauce (1 ticket)
  • Smoked Whitefish & fingerling potato salad with Sherry Hazelnut Vinaigrette & spring greens (2 tickets)
  • Apple Crisp (1 ticket)
  • Fair Trade, Organic, Freshly Roasted Coffee (1 ticket)

I, of course, spilled coffee as I walked around finding a fork & a table.  Some landed on my pants…..no surprise there!!  😛

ahhh….DONE!  What a delicious meal.  As a bonus, everything is biodegradable!

There were also organic wine tasting ($2) & beer tasting ($1).  I wasn’t in an alcohol mood today.  So I passed.  Shocker?  Not really!

To make my day even better, there were eco-Cabs waiting outside giving free rides!  They were bikes equipped with backup battery.  I, of course, took full advantage…..to the train station please!!! 😀

I collected so many coupons, freebies, & some purchases.

I bought a box of organic ginger tea, stevia, whole chia seeds, 2 containers of greek yogurt, 2 Natura unsweetened soy beverage, 1 beeswax lip balm, & a biodegradable stain remover (probably useful for my coffee-stained jeans! HA!).

I was reading a complimentary magazine on my way home…..check this page out.   Oh my stupid Achilles  injury!!!!  Maybe I should take up yoga for runners!!

This show reaffirmed my love for eco-friendly products.  Go Green!!!  There’s a reason why green is my favourite colour! 😀

3 thoughts on “Green Living Show

  1. Pingback: Hot Yoga « Cherry Lo

  2. Pingback: Mother’s Day Idea « Cherry Lo

  3. Pingback: Lip Balm Galore « Cherry Lo

Leave a Reply

