Meet Laser

It’s another Sunday & time is going by way too fast.  Sunday means swimming…whoohoo!

This morning, I was greeted by this little bundle of joy…..Laser!  She’s my 10 year-old yellow lab.  She may be old, but she’s still energetic as ever.

She decides to have breakfast with me.   My dad built her a table back when she was about 2 yrs old.  I read in a book that large dogs have to strain their neck if their bowl is placed on the ground.  However, she enjoys putting a load of dog chow in her mouth, spitting them on the ground, & eating from there…….which defeats the whole purpose.  Oh well, she likes being unique.

For breakfast, I had a pineapple bun & a big glass of water.  Pineapple buns definitely don’t have pineapples in them – it got its name from its appearance.  The topping on the bread is designed to mimic the spiny surface of a pineapple.  The bun is probably just flour & butter with loads of sugar.  Hence, it’s more of a treat for me – not something I can have all the time.

I wasn’t satisfied after…I guess it’s because it’s full of sugar!  So I concocted a little treat….

  • 4 tbsp 0% plain yogurt (I usually enjoy 1%, but store ran out)
  • 2 tbsp pumpkin puree
  • handful of puffed wheat cereal
  • couple of dark chocolate chips
  • dash of cinnamon

….and followed by hot tea (with splash of unsweetened vanilla almond milk) & a book.  I am currently reading The Coke Machine: The Dirty Truth behind the World’s Favourite Soft Drink, written by Michael Blanding.  I stopped drinking soda 2 yrs ago.  It hasn’t been a challenge since I was never addicted to it in the past, just the occasional can/glass.

I am hoping by the end of the book, I will have enough facts to convince 1 of my colleagues to stop drinking his Coke Zero.  Sounds like a grand endeavour?

I went swimming at noon for about 50 min. I completed 31 laps (or 62 lengths).  There were quite a lot of slow people in my lane today.  I had to swim around them constantly.

I returned home after the swim to make lunch.  I am craving oatmeal these days, so of course, I made some!  I couldn’t get myself to take a picture of the gooey but delicious mess.  It just didn’t look appetizing.  But these ingredients were used:

  • 1/2 Cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1/2 Cup water
  • 1/2 cup Oats
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 mashed banana
  • 2 tbsp pumpkin puree (I really love these – they are so versatile)
  • Dash of cinnamon
  • Dash of pumpkin pie spice
  • spoonful of natural Peanut Butter
  • spoonful of 0% plain yogurt

I also had a big glass of water, 1 red plum, 2 chestnuts, & a square of Ritter Sport Fine Extra Dark Chocolate…very good indeed.

Leave a Reply

